Email :    Phone : 08023151255



In the last one year (2015-August 2016), Fellows and Members of NAL recorded the following achievements and landmarks:


Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, JP, CON, FNAL, NNOM

On Tuesday, November 17, 2015, November 2015, Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, JP, CON, FNAL, NNOM, was honoured with the well-deserved award of the Honorary Degree of D. Litt. (Honoris Causa) by the University of Ibadan, Nigeria.


Professor Emeritus Munzali Jibril, OFR, FNIPR, FNAL

Professor Emeritus Munzali Jibril , OFR, FNIPR, FNAL, the Immediate Past President of NAL was on December 2015 elected as the 20th President and Chairman of Council of the Nigerian Institute of Management (NIM).


Professor Jacob Kehinde Olupona, FNAL, NNOM

On December 12, 2015, Prof. Jacob Kehinde Olupona, FNAL, NNOM was conferred with the award of the honorary degree of D. LITT. by the Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife, Nigeria.


Professor Biodun Jeyifo, FNAL

The renowned Harvard Professor, literary critic, scholar and newspaper columnist, Professor Biodun Jeyifo, FNAL (popularly known as “BJ”) turned 70 on Tuesday, January 5, 2016.


Professor Emeritus Femi Osofisan, FNAL

Professor Emeritus Femi Osofisan, FNAL; author, playwright, actor, poet, novelist and director was in January 2016 named winner of the prestigious Thalia prize 2016, by the Executive Committee of the International Association of Theatre Arts Critics (IATC/AICT). Prof. Osofisan also turned 70 this year.


Professor Is-haq Olanrewaju Oloyede, FNAL, OFR

On August 1, 2016 Professor Is-haq Olanrewaju Oloyede, FNAL, OFR, former Vice Chancellor, University of Ilorin was appointed the Registrar of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB).


Professor Adamu Abubakar Rasheed, mni, MFR

On August 1, 2016, Prof. Adamu Abubakar Rasheed, mni, MFR, was appointed the Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission (NUC),

Professor Benjamin Olatunji Oloruntimehin, FHSN, FNAL

Professor Benjamin Olatunji Oloruntimehin, FHSN, FNAL, the Immediate Past President (IPP) of NAL turned 77 on 11th August, 2016. Born on 11th August 1939, he obtained his B.A. (Hons.) from University College, Ibadan (a College of London University) in 1963 and Ph.D. in History from University of Ibadan in 1966. He was the President of Nigerian Academy of Letters from August 2014 – August 12th, 2016.



NAL uses this medium to express its profound appreciation to:

  • Alhaji Adebola Adegunwa (for generous financial support)
  • The Vice Chancellor, Delta State University, Abraka. (for the full support of the 2015 Annual Lecture)
  • The Local Organizing Committee (LOC) of the 2015 Lecture


We regret to announce the passing on of a great pillar of NAL:

  • Chief (Dr.) Bayo Kuku Ogbeni-Oja of Ijebuland.
  • He died on Thursday, 5th and was buried on Friday, 6th March, 2015.

2015 Nominations

Nomination forms for Regular and Honorary Fellows (2015) are now available online and at the National Secretariat. Deadline for the return of completed forms to the Secretary is March 24th 2015.

Membership Drive

NAL still needs more members. It may be recalled that Ex-co appointed the following to spearhead the membership drive in 2012/2013: N/W/North Central- Prof. Munzali Jibril N/East - Prof. Rotimi Badejo South Edo (Ekpoma) -Prof. Egbokhare Prof. Oloruntimehin Prof. E. Nolue Emenanjo Prof. Romanus Egudu Prof. Oyin Abogunrin Prof. Steve Ogude S/West - South East- East - Kogi/Kwara- Bayelsa- Benin, Igbinedon-Prof. Kester Echenim Cross River- Lagos- Profs. Eno Urua and David Eka Profs. Stella Johnson & Ayodeji Olukoju

Tribute to Chief (Dr.) Bayo Kuku, FNAL

With the death of Chief Bayo Kuku, NAL has lost a great friend and benefactor, who spared no effort to sustain the activities of the Academy in its formative years... We owe to him the now famous response: "It is Yesable" to our constant requests. We will certainly miss him. May he rest in peace. - Ayo Bamgbose,FP

2014 Fellows' Night

The 2014 Fellows’ Night was held, as usual, on the eve of Convocation at 7.00pm in the Functions Room, University of Lagos Guest Houses. The Guest Speaker, Prof. Moses Makinde, delivered a speech, entitled: “The Academics as reservoir of Professors and Intellectuals”. The speech’s penchant for the supremacy of the Humanities over the Sciences was generally modified by the audience to reflect the current multidisciplinary approach to knowledge.
Prof. Rahman A. Bello, Vice Chancellor, University of Lagos, was present at the occasion. He was accompanied by his Deputy Vice-Chancellors and other officials.



Fellows and Members are hereby reminded to pay up the NAL annual Membership fee of 20,000 Naira (effective 2017).

Executive Committee (2018-2020)